April 30

What’s missing?

I am at the stage with the wildlife plot where I can stand back and consider what we have and what is missing. Last year I realised that we didn’t have any floxgloves and so we have spent this spring planting a whole range both wild and cultivated. They’ll all end up as one pinky-mauve colour in the end but at least we should have some. The other thing I noticed that we are missing is umbellifers. We have Verbena bonariensis (I think this plant counts as one) but we need more.

Anthriscus sylvestris – Cow parsley in my garden.

I’ve looked through a range of books and come up with a list that will provide some of these flowers for as long as possible across the year.

Ammi majuswhiteJune – August
Verbena bonariensispurpleJuly – October
Giant fennelyellowJuly – October
DillyellowJune to August
Daucas carrota ‘Dora’purpleJune – August
Angelica sylvestriswhiteMay – June
Seseli gummiferumwhiteMay – July
ValerianwhiteJuly – August (Thanks for the suggestion Belinda.)

This means umbellifer flowers from May to October, six months, with many pollinators enjoying these flowers. I have started sowing seeds and have Ammi majus that are large enough to go out and Daucus carrota on their way but still a bit small.

Tags:

Posted April 30, 2022 by alijoy in category april, wildlife garden

2 thoughts on “What’s missing?

  1. Belinda Robinson

    We have valerian, it self-seeds everywhere. The fragrance is delightful and bees/hover flies love it. Plus it grows nice and tall.

    Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Ah, thank you for that suggestion and it is one I will add to the list. I had to look it up as I have a lot of Red Valerian which self-seeds everywhere but this is a different plant and not one I know. I will add it to the list.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*