January 23

Six flowers on Saturday 23/05/21

I started to wonder if we had any flowers at all in the garden having seen all the wonderful ones shared by the Six on Saturdayers hosted by The Propagator It turns out we do but I have to get out in the garden to see them! So, here are my six flowering away despite the rain we have had this week.

First are the Winter Aconites before the birds get to them and peck the flowers off and strew them around the plant.

Hiding in the side bed is a Pulmonaria ‘Sissinghurst White’. It is a bit small and I don’t think it is really a fan of the dry soil but it soldiers on gamely.

All around the garden as a result of self-seeding is Euphorbia characias subsp. wulfenii. It is a strong, hard to miss plant particularly at this time of year. I love the zingy, yellowy-green flowers and the pop of the seed pods in the summer when the seeds are ready to go.

Tucked down by a low wall in the front garden is Geranium Rozanne looking a little the worse for the weather but gamely flowering.

Does it count to have something that is nearly there? These daffodils were in the garden when we moved here and they are almost ready to flower with a slight yellowy bloom on the buds.

And finally, not a flower but a borrowing from Paddy Tobin, An Irish Gardener who created a path through a bed. It was just what I needed for what we grandly call the Round Bed. It is too deep to weed from the front and I end up walking all over parts of it to get to everything so a path through it is just what it needed. I have used stones from around the garden that I dig up every time I try to plant something. All it needs now is a layer of shreddings on the path and more plants.  I cleared out those I didn’t like as I created the path so now I can buy some more!

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Posted January 23, 2021 by alijoy in category january, six on saturday

14 thoughts on “Six flowers on Saturday 23/05/21

    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Thank you Belinda. I too am pleased to see ab it of colour. I was starting to get worried that I things hadn’t survived the very wet Decemer. But of course, they had!

      Reply
  1. Andrew

    I think you’re doing rather well for flowers. In fact, looking at the bed your have just put a path through, the garden looks in good nick for the middle of January!

    Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Thank you. There are bits that look far worse I can assure you. Sunny but cold days do encourage you to get out there and we have had a few just recently.

      Reply
  2. Graeme

    I do like a garden path. Very nice. I’m sure my mother-in-law has some Winter Aconites in her garden. I’m going to have to see if I can acquire some.

    Reply
  3. Fred

    Good idea this path through the flower bed…! I also show my new daffodils this weekend , which are roughly at the same stage as yours. (PS: I don’t see too much weeds in your photos …😁)

    Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Ah, the weeds are elsewhere. I had to weed to create the path. The rest doesn’t look quite so good! I noticed your daffs at about the same stage – they could almost have been the same photo 🙂

      Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Thank you. It is the first time I think I have ever been pleased to have such stones. The garden when we moved in didn’t have any flower borders so there are plenty of stones to turn over and I swear more keep coming.

      Reply
  4. Hortus Baileyana

    The path is looking great and hopefully will be useful too. I love how doing Six on Saturday gets us out spotting what is flowering in the garden. You’ve found plenty in yours.

    Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Yes – it is good when the weather is like this. It also forces me to think about how I could improve it for next year.

      Reply
  5. Jane

    It’s amazing what can be found when you really look hard, isn’t it! You found some beauties. I like the path, have just admired Paddy’s. Its a very good idea.

    Reply
    1. alijoy (Post author)

      Yes, it is. I have even found a snowdrop which I didn’t plant but has turned up under a shrub. Maybe one for next week.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*